The Office for Archives and Records Management is the central repository for the Diocese of Springfield in Illinois’ historical records. The Archives houses the records and papers of our bishops, diocesan offices, parishes, schools and cemeteries. The bulk of our collection dates from 1923, when the see was transferred from Alton to Springfield. During the transfer, the majority of diocesan records, including priest files and bishop’s papers, were lost or destroyed.
The majority of our collection consists of unique, original materials that were created in the conduct of diocesan business. These records include, but are not limited to:
- Papers and records of the Bishops of the Diocese of Springfield in Illinois;
- Records of diocesan offices;
- Information on diocesan agencies, institutions, religious communities and Catholic organizations;
- Biographical information on deceased secular clergy;
- Parish financial and statistical reports, 1868-present;
- Closed parish and school records; and
- Records for St. Aloysius Orphanage, 1865-1945.
The Archives also houses secondary materials that provide information about the diocese, parishes, schools and diocesan institutions and agencies. These materials include:
- Newspapers on microfilm:
- The Western Catholic, 1908-1977
- Time & Eternity, 1977-1986
- Catholic Times, 1986-present
- National Catholic directories (such as the Official Catholic Directory), 1856-present; and
- Published parish histories and pictorial directories.